Ty Gwyn reviews

​We receive an astonishing amount of positive feedback on the time and experiences that our visitors have shared at Ty Gwyn.

Here are a few of the things that others have to say about Ty Gwyn, the Big House by the Sea.

We stayed at the house by the sea for my 40th birthday and had the best time.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by - Lisa O. said... 10 April 2020

We stayed at the house by the sea for my 40th birthday and had the best time. The house is beautiful even better than the pictures and very clean.  Linda and Lawrence were fantastic hosts answering all our questions and helping with local advice.

We stocked the pub room optics which was really fun and the dining room allowed us space for a lovely sit down meal on Friday night.  Saturday we had a walk and a trip to the lovely local pub for lunch which Linda recommended, then Saturday night we had a party in the new outdoor room with flashing lights and a disco ball it was amazing.

Sunday we relaxed in the sauna looking out over the sea and played in the games room.  It was too windy for the hot tub but we didn’t miss it as so much else to do.  A perfect weekend with perfect hosts - we will definitely return again. Thank you, Lawrence and Linda, for making my birthday so memorable xx

- Lisa O. said... 10 April 2020

Fantastic hen weekend!

Fantastic hen weekend!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Ellen. said 14 June 2019

What an amazing house! We had such a brilliant weekend for my hen do. The house was absolutely perfect and extremely well equipped with everything we could possibly need. The view was stunning and we were lucky enough to catch a beautiful sunset on the Saturday evening. The view from the sauna was a particular high point! Thank you so much to Linda for being so helpful and efficient with communication. A further thanks to Sam the housekeeper for cooking us a lovely BBQ. Would really recommend the Wonder Bar who came to the house to give us a cocktail masterclass. Thanks Dave! All in all, an extremely memorable weekend- we would love to return.

Ellen. said 14 June 2019

Birthday Celebrations

Birthday Celebrations

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Tracy M. said... 27 May 2019

We are a group of District Nurses from Warrington wanting to celebrate some special birthdays. We were lucky enough to find this amazing house. We couldn’t have asked for a better weekend. The house had everything we could possibly want. An absolutely beautiful location. Evening drinks overlooking the sea. A perfect time to chill and spend time with friends outside of our very busy workplace. We especially liked the bar and our evening meals around the table. To wake up in the morning to the sound of the surrounding wildlife was so lovely. Linda was very accomodating from the moment of booking. She was so helpful and responded quickly to our requests. We have already rebooked for next year. Can’t wait to spend more time with friends at this beautiful property. Thanks Linda and Lawrence

Tracy M. said... 27 May 2019

Fantastic!

Fantastic!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Laura L. said... 29 Apr 2019

Hired this house for a hen party. We were absolutely blown away by the property! The views to the sea are amazing, and the house itself had everything we could of needed for the weekend. Lovely modern bathrooms, a cinema, it’s own bar and large dining room. We hired services into the house, e.g - an evening caterer and a life drawing class. Communication with the owner has been clear and easy throughout. Highly recommended for a large group who want to come together to party and relax. The hot tub makes this easy too! Thank you!

Laura L. said... 29 Apr 2019

Wedding stay April 2019

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Dana F. said... 23 Apr 2019

We spent 3 nights here with friends and family for our wedding celebration. All of our guests commented on what an amazing place Ty Gwyn is. The house and the views are spectacular. We spent the evening before our wedding enjoying views from the fire pit and we had reception drinks on the balcony after our service. The bar, cinema, sauna and hot tub were also very popular! Linda and Lawrence were great, getting back to me quickly with any questions. They genuinely care about guests having an amazing time.

Dana F. said... 23 Apr 2019

Amazing memories in an amazing house.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Samantha B. said... 18 Apr 2019

Myself and my family stayed in this lovely house for my 40th birthday, it exceeded all of our expectations. The blend of the old with the new in this house makes it an interesting and wonderful place to stay. It met the needs of everyone, the kids had the freedom to be safe but have fun inside and outside, grown ups really enjoyed the bar and it is big enough for the older adults to find a quiet area when the fun became too much, I would firmly recommend this house to anyone. We danced, barbecued, played sports, soaked in the hot tub, had an Easter egg hunt, and laughed for four days. All of this in a beautiful house within stunning grounds… we could not of asked for more.

Samantha B. said... 18 Apr 2019

What an amazing house for a large party.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Catrin J. said... 2 Mar 2019

Myself and 29 ladies stayed at Ty Gwyn for my sisters hen do. We enjoyed drinking and dancing in the large dining area and took part in sports day on the large garden area. Fantastic venue with an AMAZING view.

Catrin J. said... 2 Mar 2019

Just WOW!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Rachel B. said... 7 Feb 2019

Me and 21 of my friends stayed at Ty Gwyn for 3 nights for my hen do. It was incredible! As we came up the drive we were just bowled over by the incredible location & views! The house was just amazing too! It was really well equipped with everything we could possibly need and the dining table being able to seat us all was very well used during our stay! Our favourite bits were the pub, amazing cinema & of course the hot tub & sauna - that view from the sauna was to die for! We’re desperately thinking of a reason to come back with family as whilst it’s the PERFECT hen pad, it’s also ideal for families. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Ty Gwyn to anyone! Thank you for letting me have my hen do here, we had the BEST time! I didn’t leave the house the whole time we were there!!!

Rachel B. said... 7 Feb 2019

New Year’s Eve break

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Gemma D. said... 18 Jan 2019

We had the most perfect stay and enjoyed everything! You literally have thought of everything with great detail, which made our stay so easy, from enough kitchen appliances, pots and pans etc, to the dressing up cupboard, Sonos system and even the pots of pencils for the games we played. We shall be returning!

Gemma D. said... 18 Jan 2019

Great house for lots of people

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Jenny S. said... 5 Dec 2018

Has everything you need and more. Kids loved the cinema

Jenny S. said... 5 Dec 2018

Amazing cottage in a fantastic location

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Helen R. said... 30 Nov 2018

This truly is an amazing cottage. The cottage is huge and comfortably sleeps 30. The kitchen is very well equipped and we found it easy to cater for all guests, who ranged from 5 months to 50. The grounds of the cottage are amazing (and bigger than we expected) and we all loved the sauna, hot tub, frizby golf and beyond. We were all very sad to leave and will definitely be going back. The position and view from the cottage is one of the best that I have seen in Wales. The owners are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Helen R. said... 30 Nov 2018

A truly brilliant house in the most idyllic spot!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Philippa H. said... 23 Nov 2018

Everything was just perfect for our family gathering to celebrate our wedding. The house was warm and inviting and offered us everything we needed. The kitchen which was excellently equipped with everything you needed to host a function. The guests all enjoyed the fabulous facilities, especially the hot tub, under the cold night sky! It was just perfect and everyone requested that we should repeat the event next year to celebrate our anniversary!

Philippa H. said... 23 Nov 2018

No question!! A perfect venue for any occasion!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Rachel G. said... 26 Nov 2018

Where to start on how much we loved Ty Gwyn?! We are lucky enough to actually live in this truly gorgeous corner of Wales! I regularly drive past Ty Gwyn and remember staying there as a teenager (30 years ago!!) when it was run as an outdoor pursuits centre, so when we saw it advertised as a holiday let, and the photos blew us away, we just had to book it for my husband’s 60th birthday celebration. But when you actually arrive there , it’s even better in reality! How Linda and Lawrence have transformed this place is unbelievable and absolutely stunning. Every room is so tastefully done, and the house is beautiful from top to bottom! Modern, stylish, with gorgeous furniture, canvases , artwork and family photos which are a nice touch. Plenty of toilets, fabulous showers, really comfy beds and fabulous views to wake up to. There’s so much space too! Even in November, with all of us inside ( or in the sauna or hot tub!) for most of the time, you would never be under each other’s feet or feel peopled out! You’ve got the huge living room , reading room, amazing cinema, pool room, massive dining table and of course the wonderful bar, many peoples favourite spot!!. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need. But even though the house is so spacious, it’s perfectly warm, comfortable and totally homely, an absolute treat for those that had travelled a long way on the Friday! All in all, we couldn’t find fault with Ty Gwyn, I’m sure you couldn’t find a better venue for a get together. We, and all our friends had one of the best weekends we’ve ever had, and will never forget it! And thankfully, we get to keep driving past regularly and remembering such a wonderful time!

Rachel G. said... 26 Nov 2018

Absolutely amazing house!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Clare G. said... 26 Oct 2018

What a gem. This place is fabulous. From start (booking) to end (coming home) it was brilliant. Linda has answered our many questions at the drop of a hat. We had a lot of various questions in the lead up to our stay and Linda replied quickly. Advising us of the best rooms to sleep certain sized families or providing us with travel cots or best place to eat in town etc etc. No question was left unanswered. Upon arrival we gained entry to the house easily. From this point on we were flabbergasted. The house is just amazing. It has lots to see and do. It took a good 20-25 mins to get around an see the whole place. I couldn’t say how many times I said wow!! It’s just incredible. The facilities available top it off!! We unpacked an sat on the balcony awaiting the rest of our crew who arrived in dribs and drabs. We were very lucky to have beautiful weather most of the weekend. While waiting we started to warm the hot tub up. And got the steam room running. It was all just so exciting. After all had arrived and an hour or so relaxing in the hot-tub and steam room we got dinner on the go in the fully equipped kitchen. It’s great. We actually had a competition going to find something that the house didn’t have. There wasn’t anything. I could go on and on but I’d be here all night. So would you!

Clare G. said... 26 Oct 2018

The perfect weekend!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Faye S. said... 17 Oct 2018

We booked Ty Gwyn for my friends hen party. 24 ladies in our party and not one of us was disapointed! The house itself is full of character and charm whilst also offering all of the amenities you could possibly need for your stay. The owner was excellent at helping us out before our stay offering to help us find local services from white water rafting to beauticians to make our stay extra special. The weekend we went happened to be that of storm callum but it didnt dampen our spirits and we still found ourselves enjoying the sauna and the hot tub. With the cinema and the bar to enjoy too the house offered something for everyone and it was nice to be in such a big group but not feel on top of each other. Unfortunately we wernt really able to explore the local area as much as we wouldv’e liked to due to the bad weather but from what we saw there is plenty to do and the views are amazing. I think we would all love to return hopefully on a slightly dryer weekend!

Faye S. said... 17 Oct 2018

Amazing house, location and views to celebrate a joint 70th birthday with family.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Desiree R. said...28 Sep 2018

The pictures don’t do this place justice. It’s amazing! 20 members of our family ranging from 12 to 70 years of age went. Something for everyone to do and enough space to get away from each other too. We stayed late sept early oct, my mum loved sunning herself on the balcony during the day (Yes in October!) and then watching the sun set later on. We played the 9 hole frisbee course in the sunshine, which is a lot harder than it looks. The village is gorgeous, especially the 5-10 minute walk to the beach (although this took about 30 mins as we kept stopping to take pictures with all the amazing yarn work - check instagram #llwyngwrilyarnbombing you’ll see my pictures or #bighousebythesea ) and the pub does a lovely pint too. We spent a day in Barmouth, the kids AND adults loved crabbing, mooching in the shops and a stop at the pub. For dinner we had a bbq and then giant marshmallows around the fire pit. The massive pallet of wood included in the stay lasted all weekend with plenty to spare.We went to King Arthur’s and the maze on the saturday and bought lovely items at the craft centre there, the candle and pottery places were my fave - the scenery on the way is stunning. Driving back on a sunny day you could be in the med as you approach the house. Then spent a day in the house to make the most of it. We have never all been together in one place (apart from weddings and funerals when we all all say ‘We should meet more often”) so we had Christmas day together. Yes Christmas in October. Full Christmas dinner which was easy in the fully equipped kitchen with 2 of everything, cookers, kettles and most importantly dishwashers! The pantry is huge and Asda delivered all our food which meant we didn’t waste a day food shopping and also didnt have to jam pack the cars. They really have thought of everything, the kitchen has a massive hot water urn which saves boiling kettles constantly. Then drinks in the bar. The Sonos app is ace. You can play music in whichever rooms you wish and those you don’t want to. We piped Christmas music in the kitchen, dining room and bar. So fab dancing around. Watched a film together in the cinema. Then played a quiz tournament. Finished with hot tub and sauna. Family memories to treasure forever. None of us wanted to leave, not one. In fact the teenagers lost all coolness and cried! We would LOVE to go back. If you’re looking around, stop looking, just contact Linda directly she’s ace, you’ve found the best place ever!

Desiree R. said...28 Sep 2018

Fabulous place

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Helen J. said... 19 Sep 2018

Have stayed in a few places, this was by far the best

Helen J. said... 19 Sep 2018

Stunning views, peaceful location very well equipped house

Stunning views, peaceful location very well equipped house

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by kayleigh g. said... 3 Sep 2018

Myself and my partner used the house as our wedding venue and it did not disappoint all the bedrooms were beautiful and bathrooms were amazing we spent the the whole wedding dancing on the balcony with the sun setting behind, we couldn’t of asked for a more beautiful setting to spend our first days as husband and wife

kayleigh g. said... 3 Sep 2018

2nd visit for Seven Architecture

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Anonymous said... 23 Aug 2018

We brought 41 members of staff and their families for a relaxing weekend away. Most staying in Ty Gwyn and the remainder in guest houses nearby. Ty Gwyn is incredibly well equipped and immaculately clean. We all had another fantastic weekend and Ty Gwyn really is the perfect base for a large group to explore the area and to just chill-out. Linda and Lawrence have clearly been working hard to keep adding to the facilities this last year. The log-fired hot tub and sauna went down a treat…..despite the miserable weather! We had a feast both evenings of our stay (with a pub quiz), we all took part in one of the ZipWorld activities (Treetop Nets and Fforest Coaster in Betws-Y-Coed, and Titan Zip Line and Bounce Below in Blaenau Ffestiniog), and visited the Centre for Alternative Technology (CAT) in Machynlleth. Looking forward to next year’s visit and using the new party room up on the terrace…...no pressure Lawrence! Thank you. Ian

Anonymous said... 23 Aug 2018

Wonderful!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Kevin O. said... 25 Aug 2018

I was looking for a house that could hold a family of our size and we hit the jackpot with Ty Gwyn. Everyone was made up on arrival, nosing around and discovering what was in each room. Some family went for leisurely walks or hikes as it is in a great location. Others just relaxed around the property. Everyone did their own thing but came together for breakfast and of an evening. A night all around the fire pit singing was a personal favourite. The pool table and hot tub the others. I would love to book again on our next family gathering!

Kevin O. said... 25 Aug 2018

40th Wedding Anniversary Celebrations

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Pat W. said... 19 Aug 2018

This house was simply perfect for our group of 19 family and friends, and 3 three babies! So much space to spread out. The flow of the bar, dining room and the kitchen was great, and the most popular area to gather. The lounge comfortably seated 22 adults on our Murder Mystery evening. The hot tub and sauna were amazing, and as for the cinema - what a treat! The area is beautiful and there is so much to do. Linda was so helpful answering all our questions before we arrived. What a stay!!!

Pat W. said... 19 Aug 2018

Fantastic house with great views. The owners have thought of everything! Perfect for us.

Fantastic house with great views. The owners have thought of everything! Perfect for us.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Karen L. said... 3 Aug 2018

From the moment we booked, Linda could not have been more helpful. The house was amazing and rooms are all kitted out to the highest standard. The owners have put so much thought in to making it a fantastic experience for guests; the sauna, hot tub, pub and cinema all proved a great hit with us. This really was the perfect venue for our family celebration and I can’t wait to go back!

Karen L. said... 3 Aug 2018

Absolutely Fantastic

Absolutely Fantastic

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Carl P. said... 11 Aug 2018

As a family who have gone to wales almost every year for the last 50 years , we have never stayed anywhere like this. 24 of us in total Tygwyn had everything to cater for our needs. The kids were never bored and for such a large place it felt so homely and warm. We will definitely be booking again.

Carl P. said... 11 Aug 2018

Absolutely brilliant weekend at Ty Gwyn

Absolutely brilliant weekend at Ty Gwyn

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Helen F

Everything about Ty Gwyn is perfect! We have just enjoyed 3 days of shear bliss, fun, laughter and friendship. What made it possible, was the accommodation that my daughter booked last autumn to celebrate her sisters Hen Weekend. The house is huge, so having 30 people under one roof wasn’t overpowering, there is room for all in the main lounge and dining area, and then there are enough places to be able to get away from the crowd, (should you wish to). It is spotlessly clean, well maintained, and kitted out with all the equipment you would need, basically its home from home. We ordered a buffet for Friday evening, which was already in the fridge when we arrived, there was plenty of food for all. The grounds too are well maintained and we took full advantage of the outdoor world for our Gillympics (created for the bride to be), the Bollywood dancing lesson that was arranged for the Saturday afternoon, then of course there was the terrace where we ate our picnic lunch on Sunday overlooking the stunning views. There is no excuse to be bored at Ty Gwyn, with all that is provided, and our group took advantage of the equipment. We also went out and about. On Saturday we went into Fairbourne by car where we descended on the local people wearing purple Harry Potter t shirts and had to complete challenges, some of which we depended on the locals to take part….. They were really interested in what we were doing, and most had no problem joining in. (good sportsmanship). We returned to Fairbourne the same evening by train to dine at Indiana Cuisine, where we had previously booked an Indian banquet . The food was delicious, and the staff were fantastic. There was no waiting for anything and the staff were keen to provide food for all tastes and provided special requests for those who have dietary needs. Sunday was spent mainly at the house, taking part in our outdoor activities and dining for lunch, but then we took a car ride to Morfa Mawddach and walked along the bridge to Barmouth! There is a train, but the walk is something not to be missed. Our intention was to ride the train back but we all enjoyed the walk going, we couldn’t bring ourselves to miss the experience for a second time.
The owners are very approachable and always willing to answer questions, give advice and recommendations. I can’t praise Ty Gwyn enough, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation for a large party. We had a Fantastic time.

Helen F

Best Hen Party weekend EVER!!!

Best Hen Party weekend EVER!!!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Lauren B. said... 2 Jul 2018

This was literally the best house I have ever been to! Couldn’t have wished for a better venue to celebrate my hen party with all my amazing friends and family. The bedrooms were spacious, the views were absolutely breath taking and incredible and everyone loved it! There were so many things to do; hot tub, sauna, cinema room fire pit, massive lounge and lovely little bar area. We were so lucky to have had amazing weather on our side, I felt like we were abroad! I would love to come back one day. Thank you so much to Linda for her beautiful venue! I would recommend this venue to EVERYBODY! One very happy Bride to Be! Thank you xxx

Lauren B. said... 2 Jul 2018

Another amazing stay!

Another amazing stay!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Linda & Simon H. said... 31 May 2018

We were so happy to be back at Ty Gwyn. We were the first official booking back in May 2017 and were excited to see all the progress and new additions. We were thrilled that this time we were staying for three nights to take full advantage of the beautiful house and its grounds. We had great weather so we’re able to fully utilise the new BBQ area, hot tub and sauna. The fire pit was a huge hit, all sitting around toasting marshmallows and telling stories. As a family centered group it is such a joy for us to watch the children having freedom in a safe environment to play as we would have as children. We love the cinema room and The Greatest Showman was watched numerous times! We managed to organise golf and horse riding over the course of the weekend and visited the beach. Laurence and Linda never rest and we understand that there are more plans to add further to this amazing space - they always get things just right so we can’t wait for our next visit.

Linda & Simon H. said... 31 May 2018

This house is amazing!

This house is amazing!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Jess's Review - 23 May 2018

We stayed at Ty Gwyn last weekend for a friend’s Hen do and can truly say this place is incredible! The house and absolutely amazing! Each room is designed beautifully with comfy bed and modern bathrooms. The kitchen is kitted out fully with a large pantry, you can tell the owners have thought of everything. The hot tub and sauna added a special touch. The sauna heated up in no time. The hot tub took about 90 mins, the key is to keep the vent open! Linda was very helpful and professional throughout, keeping me informed all the way up until our stay. All 21 girls absolutely loved their stay and we cannot wait for an excuse to come back!

Jess's Review - 23 May 2018

Amazing, breathtaking & beautiful

Amazing, breathtaking & beautiful

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Deanna S - 16 May 2018

Absolutely loved this stay!! I came on my hen do and was absolutely over the moon with my choice the sauna and hot tub went down a treat. Linda was amazing with emailing and helping with my plans… The only thing I’d suggest is doing more then 3 days to stay because it’s just not enough!! We loved all the quwerky bits in the house and the house very quickly became our own space and we loved it!! The house was clean and totally beautiful… As you can see I was absolutely in awe of the place and will be booking again for longer then 3 days!!!! Thank you so much x

Deanna S - 16 May 2018

Awesome Place!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Jamie N - 10 May 2018

An amazing place to go with everything you need to make a group family holiday just work!

Jamie N - 10 May 2018

70th birthday ,for relatives and friends

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Neil C - 2 May 2018

Celebrated my 70th birthday at this wonderful venue,it was perfect cannot think of a single negative comment.Every facility was second to none,hot tub ,sauna views etc they were endless.We spent sat walking the Mawddach Estuary and had an amazing dinner on our return followed by entertainments and a sing song around the fire pit watching a spectacular sunset What more could anyone wish for.Hope to return soon

Neil C - 2 May 2018

Ty Gwyn - Perfect for any celebration!!!

Ty Gwyn - Perfect for any celebration!!!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Victoria H - 24 Apr 2018

I booked Ty Gwyn as a surprise for my Boyfriend’s 30th and it was everything we could of hoped for and more! There were 22 of us in total and everyone loved it, the cinema room is amazing, as is the sauna, hot tub and dining area (we loved that we could eat together as a family). Our stay was that special that we booked our return visit to Ty Gwyn the very next day for 2019 smile Linda and Lawrence were excellent hosts and could not do enough to help us with any questions we had in the run up to our stay, thank you both for a fabulous weekend!

Victoria H - 24 Apr 2018

What an absolute beautiful house. It was perfect for our family gathering!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Hannah W. said... 1 Mar 2018

From the moment we contacted the owners, they were amazing. Every little question was answered quickly and when we booked we were in contact regularly. The photos were amazing and we hoped that it would be just as amazing and it really was! We went as a family of 30 to celebrate my sister’s 40th and it was the perfect setting. The house and grounds were amazing. So much room inside and out for us all. The instructions were clear and during the visit the owners contacted us to check we were all ok which was very much appreciated. We were all so sad to leave on the Sunday afternoon, but are now looking for an excuse to go back, although we really would need an excuse! We would gladly visit again, as would all who came with us. We have recommended Ty Gwyn to so many of our friends, although we were reluctant to do as we wanted to keep it “our little secret” but from the photos we have shared, it looks like Ty Gwyn will be fully booked for a while! Many thanks to Linda and Lawrence for a beautiful weekend in your beautiful house, we really did have a weekend to remember. Diolch yn fawr!

Hannah W. said... 1 Mar 2018

Everything we could of wanted and made so easy by the hosts!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Tom (Andreas) G. said... 28 Feb 2018

It was my first time to organise a getaway for such a large group. The task of organising 20 people seemed daunting at first but Linda was there every step of the way making the whole process feel like a breeze! I was looking for a large property, that most of all had lots of communal space so that we could all enjoy big meals together. The house was incredible and had more than we could possibly hope for. Large dining room, well equipped kitchen (2 dishwashers saves a lot of effort) cinema so we could watch the rugby and acres of space outside. Linda was kind enough to recommend some activities and even booked us travel to and from. We went and did the zip wire which was amazing fun and definitely worth a journey. We didn’t want to cook every day and we’re put in contact the the local pub (the Garth). The food was great the locals even better. If you are brave enough we went for a swim in the sea after…. I have worked in the hospitality industry for 15 years and could not have been more impressed with the property and ease of which everything was handled. Big thank you to Linda and no doubt you will see me there again!

Tom (Andreas) G. said... 28 Feb 2018

Dathlu Penblwydd Nia - 40 /Celebrating Nia’s 40th

Dathlu Penblwydd Nia - 40 /Celebrating Nia’s 40th

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Helen P. said... 27 Feb 2018

30 family members with ages ranging from 4 months to 67 years of age descended on Ty Gwyn to celebrate our daughter Nia’s 40th birthday.From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were thrilled to bits with the whole experience. Everything in the house was amazing - *the bedrooms - beautiful and comfortable *the bathrooms - brand new and immaculate - lovely showers *the kitchen - so well equipped with everything (and more) that you need *the older ‘girls’ absolutely loved - and want - a cool room pantry *the dining room was a fabulous space for us all and we all ate together * prosecco ping pong was a highlight of one evening on the long table * the ‘older’ boys found the bar ideal *the cinema was a HUGE hit with the children and the ‘boys’, whilst the ‘girls’ enjoyed and afternoon relaxing watching a film whilst the boys took the children on the train from the village to Barmouth. *the lounge was huge and very comfortable for us all. We lit the fire on one night, but the whole house was so warm there was no need at all. *outside was a huge hit especially the rope swing. The fire pit also. *the boys enjoyed the frisbbe course too *the highlight of each evening was our relax in the gorgeous hot tub -bliss *even the weather was perfect and we sat out on the decking enjoyimg the views and having drinks - tea, coffee and stronger - waited on by the boys - marvellous. As you can guess we didn’t really enjoy our stay!!!!!! Haha. Nia had the most marvellous celebration, and every single person had a fantastic time. Linda and Lawrence have a beautiful property, and from the minute our youngest daughter , Hannah, spoke to them , everything was dealt with in a friendly,professional manner. We felt like friends rather than guests. We have recommended Ty Gwyn to all our friends - silly really - because we may not be able to book again!!!! Thankyou both/ Diolch yn fawr, we loved our weekend. xx

Helen P. said... 27 Feb 2018

The Wonderful House by the sea

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Mitra C - 31 Jan 2018

We had a fantastic stay. Beautiful & large house with interesting quirky touches and a great view. It was especially great to have a dining area and the living room large enough to accommodate all the guests at the same time. Sam (the housekeeper at Ty Gwyn) did a wonderful roast lamb for lunch. Very helpful to have someone to do the catering for large groups. The cinema room was a great hit especially with the children.

Mitra C - 31 Jan 2018

Amazing!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Ria C  - 18 Jan 2018

I booked the big house on the sea for my partners 30th Birthday as a surprise and we were definitely not let down! Every single person commented on how amazing the house was and how it catered for all needs! The bar was a particular big hit as was the cinema room for the children alongside the stunning area in which the house is situated. We are already looking to book again very soon! We cannot thank Linda and Lawrence for making the booking so easy and providing us with so much useful information. We would 100% recommend this house for any groups/ families as you will not be let down smile

Ria C - 18 Jan 2018

Great House great break

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Rachel D - 12 Jan 2018

First impressions last and ours lasted it was amazing from start to finish. The house is very clean and bright spacious and caters for everyone, the kitchen is well stocked for large parties and throughout there are great facilities including the cinema room and hot tub. We walked to the beach had runners in the group who found great (if hilly) routes, the children were occupied by the Football Pitch, games room and rope swing- as were the adults!!! Large house with plenty of room we will defiantly be back. Great customer service 5*

Rachel D - 12 Jan 2018

Lovely setting, all you could wish for in a holiday cottage and surroundings

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Kelly j - 7 Jan 2018

Had an amazing holiday and will definitely be returning. Great cosy cottage, lovely and warm and had everything you needed. Great surroundings. Hot tub was amazing as were the pool table and table tennis. We have children aged 16 and 13 so perfect for them. Plenty of walking routes too. Hosts were lovely, very helpful and accommodating. We struggled to get there as it had snowed but hosts were helpful and even drove us to meet the Asda delivery we had ordered who couldn’t reach us due to the snow. Lots of information in the cottage with things to do in the area. Loads of DVDs and games too. The chickens were very free range, fresh eggs everyday. We would like to return in nicer weather so we can take advantage of the lake and BBQ. Couldn’t recommend it enough, great place and have already passed details to lots of friends and family.

Kelly j - 7 Jan 2018

Amazing not to be missed

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Peter M - 27 Dec 2017

We absolutely loved our stay ,couldn’t of picked a better place to have our Christmas.Everybody loved the theatre room.It was raining when we were there so didn’t really get the privilege of outdoor pursuits,But the grounds are amazing.Lovely views.The kitchen is well equipped and spacious.,couldn’t of been any better. Definitely worth a visit.

Peter M - 27 Dec 2017

Fantastic!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Adam W - 11 Dec 2017

Well, what a fantastic time we had! As a business of 20 people, we couldn’t have picked a better place for our Christmas party. We often have our Christmas parties in Manchester city center but opted for a change of pace this year and we truly were not disappointed. Linda was fantastic from the moment we enquired and house catered to our every need. With the large dining room, lounge and cinema room it gave a real family feel and made everyone feel right at home. I would recommend Ty Gwyn to anyone, personal or corporate booking. We will certainly be returning.

Adam W - 11 Dec 2017

Great house. Perfect location.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Hannah I - 2 Dec 2017

We booked this house to celebrate a birthday party and I was very impressed as soon as I drove up to the front door. This house is both big in scale but not without all the little homely touches, and we all settled in so quickly. All the bedrooms were very well kept, and the facilities were perfect (huge kitchen, big dining area, lots of bathrooms etc) and it was suitable for all guests’ needs (the men loved the cinema room). It’s also only 5 minutes walk to a pub which was a great option for dinner. The house is surrounded by a lot of land so you feel like you are in your little haven without being in the middle of nowhere. And last but not least, the views are breathtaking, and the walk to the beach did not take long st all. Absolutely love this house; would love to go back, and would highly recommend.

Hannah I - 2 Dec 2017

Ty Gwyn is Brilliant!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Daniel B. said... 13 Nov 2017

What a place! We had looked at so many big houses before settling on Ty Gwyn but we are so pleased that we put that effort in – it wasn’t too hard a decision though as all the reviews for the property gave us a good feel for what to expect. From the moment we arrived we felt right at home, this is a big house with soul and a really friendly feeling. There is so much space that we hardly saw the children all weekend; they did of course arrive back bang on time when dinner was served on the ‘super-sized’ dining table. The bar was a real hit with everyone, as was the cinema, in fact we loved absolutely everything about Ty Gwyn and the love and care that has gone into the renovation was apparent to everyone. Linda had warned us that there was some building work going on to the back of the property but this didn’t detract from our holiday at all and the plans for that area look fantastic (I can’t wait to see the new BBQ area and sauna!). The final evening was spent around the fire pit roasting marshmallows and watching the twinkling lights of Barmouth and the shoreline beyond, just beautiful! If I had one piece of advice for Linda and Lawrence it would be to take some better photographs of Ty Gwyn and to update your website – nothing you show does the property the justice it deserves! It might however not be possible to capture the fantastic view from the front lawn with a single photograph, nor might it be possible to capture the ‘essence’ of Ty Gwyn and the lovely feel the place has with any amount of new photographs. We have all resolved to return some day. Thank you.

Daniel B. said... 13 Nov 2017

Wow !!!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Daniel B - 13 Nov 2017

What a wonderful place, booked with Linda for 3 nights for a group of friends and family and whole process was smooth and friendly. Arrived to the stunning house and it was even better than the pictures. Kids enjoyed the frisby golf, rope swing and football area outside whilst the adults spent most of the time in the ACTUAL bar. Huge kitchen with enough utensils and equipment to cook for 30, massive dining room to eat comfortably and another big hit for the kids was the cinema room with real cinema seats and a PS4! And of course the games room with pool table on the top floor. Spent a lovely night relaxing in the lounge watching X factor, there is also a reading area for those who really want to relax. Upstairs is lovely and roomy with rooms all very well decorated and comfortable including rooms on the top floor and a gorgeous room with easy access wet room on the ground floor. Shower rooms are abundance, very modern and nice hot showers. Considering how big the house is it has a very cosy friendly feel and is warm (we didn’t need to lovely fire on) and with views to die for and amazing seating area, hot tub, sauna and fire pit you don’t really need to leave. Train to Barmouth is easy 5 mins walk away, little local shop with all sorts in and a nice local pub (very cheap drinks) a big thank you to Linda and Lawrence for what they have done to Ty Gwyn and the happy, friendly feel they have made in the house, we all hope to visit again!

Daniel B - 13 Nov 2017

LEFT IN AWE - Ty Gwyn

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Carmel R - 31 Oct 2017

We were celebrating the eldest twins 60th birthday with a surprise party and wanted a fully functioning home with a relaxed atmosphere. Linda and Lawrence couldn’t have prepared Ty Gwyn any better to make it happen. This was the first time in their adult lives all 6 siblings and their families came together under one roof for an extended time. We filled all ten rooms for 2 full nights and 3 days. The kids had the best time ever on the tree rope swing (once they got the adults off) the cinema and pool room. This allowed all the mums and dads to relax knowing they were fully occupied and safe in their surroundings. Every accessible part of this house was used. Another reason for booking Ty Gwyn was the dedicated ‘Silver’ room which catered to one member of our party. As Ty Gwyn is still a home, we couldn’t believe our luck to find it had a dedicated bedroom on the ground floor. The Silver room had been designed around the family’s own requirements therefore provided us everything we needed to make our gathering whole and our party happen. There were more than enough facilities so never any queuing. Showers were hot and powerful. The kitchen with walk in pantry was awesome and had every utensil imaginable. Enough cookware to sink a ship. We all made special memories and took a piece of Ty Gwyn away in our hearts. We hope one day to return.

Carmel R - 31 Oct 2017

Almost too good to be true. Perfect.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Nicky L - 30 Oct 2017

I don’t even know where to begin. We wanted to take the entire family away to celebrate a twin 60th birthday and we couldn’t have found a more perfect property. From the accessible bedroom to the huge kitchen, comfortable living room and the many, sizeable bedrooms it was exactly what we needed. In fact, we were initially worried that it just seemed too good to be true! Upon arrival we were first struck by the beautiful white building, clearly a lot of love and hard work has gone into restoring it, and then you turn around and you’re faced with the most incredible view over the sea. Our party arrived in dribs and drabs and each new arrival was delayed by a few moments of awe at the location and the house. Ty Gwyn is beautiful, well-equipped and so comfortable. We wanted for nothing while we were there. Our visit was at the very end of October and for such a big property we didn’t struggle to stay warm at all. We had so many mouths to feed but the kitchen was huge (and impeccably clean) and the dining room had a huge table for the adults as well as a smaller table with benches where we deposited the kids. The cinema room is a dream. We had 10 children in our party and one afternoon I took all of them in there (to give the adults a much-needed break!) and we watched a Disney film. It was so easy to set up and the sound system was incredible. Little lights on the steps and the walls really complete the true ‘cinema’ feel - and there are lovely little touches like that all through the property which show how much care has been put in to making sure that staying there is a real pleasure. Throughout the process of planning the 60th weekend we wrote to Linda occasionally with little enquiries here or there, and the responses were always friendly, prompt and incredibly helpful. We really can’t thank Linda and Lawrence enough. We’ve come away with the most incredible memories; the entire family are going to treasure Ty Gwyn and our weekend there for a very, very long time.

Nicky L - 30 Oct 2017

Amazing property

Amazing property

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Laura B - 28 Oct 2017

Ty Gwyn really is an incredible place to stay for any large gathering or celebration. There were 18 of us, including 3 children, but it still felt like we had endless free space. We were confined to the house on the first night thanks to Storm Brian but even so we we able to relax and enjoy different activities or all convene together for meals. The bedrooms are comfortable and spacious, and the fixtures and fittings are high end, particularly in the kitchen. The cinema room was excellent for keeping the children entertained and the games room was always busy. The second night we were all able to go outside and gather round the fire pit which is another excellent feature. From the initial enquiry, to making the booking and then preparing for our stay, the owner Linda was very accommodating and answered any questions we had. In short it is a spectacular property and we’ll hopefully return when we have another excuse to celebrate as a group.

Laura B - 28 Oct 2017

Amazing house!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Hannah P - 22 Oct 2017

We loved this house! There were 26 of us staying in total - 12 adults and 14 children ranging from 5-12. The house is just fantastic with everything you could possibly need. We loved the cinema room especially along with the fire pit at night which was just the icing on the cake after a great day. There really is no need to leave the house, however if needed, the location is great with the beach and lots of great walks right on the doorstep. Linda was brilliant with all arrangements, everything was clean and tidy and you could tell that the house has been well looked after and much loved by all!

Hannah P - 22 Oct 2017

Beyond all expectations!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Hayley C -  9 Oct 2017

Linda and Lawrence really have thought of everything! We knew from pictures and previous reviews that we would have a great time at Ty Gwen for a joint 50th and 60th birthday celebration, however when arriving at Ty Gwen we still weren’t prepared for how amazing it would really be! The house is somehow even bigger than you imagine it to be, the cinema room is just amazing, as is having your own bar in the house, that really does feel like a genuine bar - we spent a lot of time here! The kitchen is great, very practical for catering for such large groups and very social, all bedrooms and bathrooms are impeccably renovated and the living room is large, comfortable and relaxing for all. The fact that Ty Gwyn really is a home, and not just a house, adds that extra special factor. Thanks for everything Linda and Lawrence and i hope we make it back some day!

Hayley C - 9 Oct 2017

Wonderful family gathering 29th September at Ty Gywn. Would highly recommend this venue.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Cath R - 3 Oct 2017

Our family gathering"Fambofest 2017” took place at Ty Gywn from 29th September until 1st October. Age range from 3 to 82 and it was suitable for everyone. The private grounds provided a safe for place for our two 3 year old boys to run about and let off steam. The lounge and sun room allowed for quiet time for those who needed some space. The Cinema was a magnet for all of us and watching Elf even though it was still Autumn made it feel very festive and truly like being in the “pictures”

Cath R - 3 Oct 2017

Ideal venue

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Maisie J - 28 Sep 2017

When choosing a place to stay with friends we thought we had found the ideal venue, however Ty Gwyn exceeded our expectations in every way. We made quick use of the Bar and cinema, and the Sonos speakers throughout the house were a nice touch, adding to the already amazing atmosphere of the house. The evenings were complimented by the fire pit, but the highlight by far, was the breath taking sunsets seen across the peninsula. We even indulged ourselves and booked the lovely Sam to prepare an evening meal for us on our second night, the first time any of us had enjoyed calling in outside catering! We will definitely book this house again.

Maisie J - 28 Sep 2017

Amazing weekend at an INCREDIBLE house!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Charlotte T -  13 Sep 2017

A big group of us stayed here for my husbands 30th birthday and everyone loved it! We had such a great weekend at this house. The house is beautiful. It has everything you could need, a gorgeous big dining room, bar, games room, cinema room, and more! The views looking out to the sea are breathtaking. We particularly loved the balcony seating area that overlooked these views. We will definitely be staying here again! Thank you Linda and Lawrence.

Charlotte T - 13 Sep 2017

Ty Gywn is a fantastic house catering for all the family

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Kelly S -  4 Sep 2017

We would just like to thank Linda and Lawrence for making Ty Gywn such a magical place. We stayed here for my husbands 40th birthday with 12 of our close friends and their children. The house setting is amazing with breath taking veiws! The facilities in the house are great and the games room,bar,cinema room, outside seating area,fire pit and swing where a great hit with all the family’s. Ty Gywn is truly a magical place for making memories and we can’t wait to return in the future. Kelly Sherlock

Kelly S - 4 Sep 2017

A beautiful setting with amazing views, this house is a real treat

A beautiful setting with amazing views, this house is a real treat

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Jenny S - 29 Aug 2017

We have stayed as a large family (16) in a few different big houses and this was definitely the best so far! Driving up the private driveway it felt as though we were going to our own personal hotel. The house was clean, big and had lots to keep you entertained. Outside the raised decking was very popular with the adults due to the amazing views. The kids and adults loved the rope swing, pool, Frisbee golf and tennis. The bar was fun and we all had a go at being landlord! The cinema room great for the kids especially if it rains. Barmouth and Ty Gwyn both nice places to visit and not too far. Linda couldn’t have been more accommodating and helpful, i would highly recommend. We may be back…....

Jenny S - 29 Aug 2017

A great venue for company team building or a large family get-together.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Anonymous - 22 Aug 2017

SEVEN is a practice of architects with studios in Manchester, Caernarfon, Harrogate and London. Each year, we take all our staff and their families away for a long weekend to North Wales. As we are spread over four locations, this annual event is a great opportunity for us all to socialise together and for new members of staff to really get to know their colleagues in an informal setting. In previous years we have tended to stay in the Betws-y-Coed area, but this year fancied a change and we’re delighted to have found Ty Gwyn in Llwyngwril. It’s not an area that we’re overly familiar with, so quite a contrast to be staying on the coast rather than in the mountains of Snowdonia…..and the views from the house are incredible! The thing we appreciated more than anything was that there is so much space both inside and outside Ty Gwyn, that we didn’t feel the need to cram too many activities into our weekend, it was just nice to socialise, enjoy the scenery and to have a thoroughly relaxing few days away from the studios. We all met at Harlech Castle on Friday lunchtime and then headed over to Ty Gwyn mid afternoon. Our usual routine is for the company directors to do all the cooking and serving from Friday evening through to Sunday lunchtime. We had a BBQ on the Friday night and then spent the rest of the evening sat around the fire pit or on the fantastic swing! We hired mountain bikes from Barmouth on Saturday morning and did the Mawddach Estuary Trail before returning to Ty Gwyn for afternoon tea on the terrace with glass balustrading. We have our main meal on the Saturday evening with a quiz (and plenty to drink!). The really well equipped kitchen made catering very straight forward and we managed a 3 course meal for 30 people without too much stress! We’re quite a large group, so the huge dining room and lounge were a big hit as we could all sit together rather than be spread across a number of smaller rooms. The bedrooms were very comfortable and well appointed with plenty of brand new showers and bathrooms. The kids loved the games room and the cinema room. We have had nothing but positive feedback about Ty Gwyn from everyone in our group, so I’m sure we’ll be booking again for next year. Thank you.

Anonymous - 22 Aug 2017

Beautiful house fantastic views

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by June B - 21 Aug 2017

Had a great family break here the house has everything you could want and more cinema room was a Big hit for the kids and the rope swing there was just everything that you could wish for very pleased with all the shower and toilet areas too

June B - 21 Aug 2017

Stunning house with spectacular views and surroundings

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Rhian U - 10 Aug 2017

I came across Tŷ Gwyn when I was looking for a weekend getaway with my friends for my hen do and I’m so pleased I found it! From the driveway up to the house to the well equipped kitchen, from the cinema room to the gorgeous shower rooms, we were all in awe when we first took a walk around the house, we couldn’t quite believe our luck! The place was immaculate and really nicely decorated. The views from out front you can’t beat and the decking is perfectly placed to allow you to soak up the view right until the sunsets. The house is located just a short drive from Fairboure where we parked up and had a game of rounders on the big deserted beach. We then took the little fishing boats over to Barmouth for some fish and chips. It was a perfect day out and just down the road! The house is so well equipped though, you needn’t go anywhere! There’s a cinema room, a pool table and a ping pong table and a rope swing outside, lots to keep you entertained. Tŷ Gwyn is the perfect house to spend a weekend away with friends and loved ones. My friends and I can’t wait to come back one day!

Rhian U - 10 Aug 2017

Brilliant, wonderful, everything we needed and more!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Christina G - 25 Jul 2017

We had an absolutely wonderful weekend in your lovely house. We were over the moon when we got there and saw the lovely interior decoration, and the stunning views outside. It really felt like being in a family home not a rented house. We had a glorious evening around the fire pit and a great time in the bar!! We loved every minute and will definitely be recommending you to others. Thank you for giving my Mum such a super 80th birthday weekend - she was delighted!

Christina G - 25 Jul 2017

Marvellous Welsh west coast

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Jan O - 17 Jul 2017

We had a get together for four families ranging in age from 9 months to 80 years & this house catered for all our needs, weather was good & bad but the owners have thoughtfully put in a cinema room, pool room & bar so all covered - grounds are great with a fabulous seating area overlooking the sea, tennis court, football area, Frisbee golf & swing. Kids ran wild, adults relaxed and a super time was had by all. Enough bathrooms for everyone plus an accessible room. All in all highly recommended.

Jan O - 17 Jul 2017

Perfect location and great facilities for large groups.

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Lowri R - 6 Jul 2017

The property has it all - great views, brilliant facilities and it’s in an ideal location. It’s a short walk to Llwyngwril train station. The cinema room was a hit during our stay! The kitchen is perfect for cooking for large groups, with everything you need. We would definitely like to stay there again!

Lowri R - 6 Jul 2017

OMG!

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Alex - July 17

Hi Linda,

Oh my god, you have the most amazing house here and we are having the best time. Everyone found it easily. Currently on the decking.

We are interested in booking again for next year for a week if there is availability? Not sure what week yet but next summer.

Regards

Alex

Alex - July 17

Absolutely awesome

Absolutely awesome

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Teresa & Glenn C - 11 Jun 2017

Just the best place possible. Amazing house, beautiful views. Stayed to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary with 30 friends everyone loved it. Would definitely recommend to all for big celebrations

Teresa & Glenn C - 11 Jun 2017

An amazing place - perfect for groups

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Zoe J - 24 May 2017

An amazing house. The view and location are perfect. We had a fantastic weekend with 4 families enjoying the space of the house. The cinema room was a real hit - as was the bar! A unique property with lots of space and character. We thought your attention to little details was lovely – the printed bar mats etc. Little touches like that really gave the house a personality. We loved the fact there were plenty of places to sit so if someone wanted to have a quiet hour they could for instance go sit in the conservatory area off the lounge – which we did both mornings for a quiet cuppa!

Zoe J - 24 May 2017

We feel so lucky to have found Ty Gwyn

We feel so lucky to have found Ty Gwyn

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by Linda, Simon and friends - 15 May 2017

As a group of friends we had been looking for somewhere to stay which was big enough for 30 of us to get together. We feel so lucky to have found Ty Gwyn via our mutual friend Sarah, it is the perfect place. From the adults to the children, everyone had an amazing time, the space is exceptional inside and out. We enjoyed the view, visited the beach, relaxed, played games and got quite competitive in ‘Ty Gwyn’s got no talent!’ Linda and Lawrence have thought of everything, so much so that we hope to make it an annual gathering and have already booked for next year.

Thank you for sharing your special place with us, Linda, Simon and friends

Linda, Simon and friends - 15 May 2017

An amazing 50th wedding anniversary

Ty Gwyn Review Rating by S Bayliss - October 2015

We stopped at TY Gwyn in October 2015 to celebrate my Mum and Dads 50th wedding anniversary. Having stayed at the spectacular Tudor Cottage and The Granary with my sister and enjoyed the taste of heaven there.

My sister booked up to, celebrate as a whole family (25 of us, with family flying in from all over the world!) to spend the weekend there as a family, just enjoying the beautiful surroundings and family time was priceless and something we will treasure and remember.We just need another excuse to stay there again as it could not be faulted.

Thank you Linda and Lawrence for the memories - can’t wait to go back one day! Susie

S Bayliss - October 2015